Blue Devils Earn 2020 NEC Spring Spring Academic Honors

Blue Devils Earn 2020 NEC Spring Spring Academic Honors

The Northeast Conference announced Spring Scholar-Athletes and Academic Honor Roll honorees, including 68 Central Connecticut student-athletes it was announced Thursday by the league office. The league also named members of the Spring Commissioner's Honor Roll.



CCSU had 14 student-athletes earn Commissioner's Honor Roll recognition: Vincent Camera (baseball), Katelyn Parker (women's lacrosse), Jillian Schwab (women's lacrosse), Nina Sutton (women's lacrosse), Benjamin Carlson (men's outdoor track & field), Nicholas Gianni (men's outdoor track & field), David Kerns (men's outdoor track & field), Alex Norstrom (men's outdoor track & field), Angie Rafter (women's outdoor track and field), Ashley Dana (women's outdoor track and field), Margaret LoSchiavo (women's outdoor track and field), Alexa Milius (softball), Giuliana Hathaway (softball), Kim Howard (softball).

A record 1,478 student-athletes were named to the league's Spring Academic Honor Roll, all with at least a 3.20 grade-point average. The conference set another new standard with 411 student-athletes earning Spring Commissioner's Honor Roll recognition with a 3.75 or better grade point average.

"I couldn't be prouder of our spring sport student-athletes who continued to prioritize their academic success during the most trying of circumstances," said NEC Commissioner Noreen Morris. "And for NEC student-athletes as a whole to not just break, but shatter, single-year records for NEC Academic and Commissioner's Honor Roll membership demonstrates their unwavering commitment to being the best they can be in the classroom."

Over the course of the 2019-20 academic year, a league record 3,411 NEC student-athletes landed a spot on the Academic Honor Roll and a record 1,067 student-athletes were named to the Commissioner's Honor Roll.