Central Connecticut State University Athletics #GOBLUEDEVILS

Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Men's Basketball Duo Earn All-NEC Honors

Men's Basketball Duo Earn All-NEC Honors

Senior Tyler Kohl and freshman Ian Krishnan earned Northeast Conference postseason honors it was announced by the league office on Tuesday. Kohl was named to the All-NEC Second Team, while Krishnan earned a spot on the NEC All-Rookie Team. The awards were announced on the eve of the Northeast Conference Tournament Quarterfinals.


Kohl led the Blue Devils and ranked among the top 10 in the league in scoring (18.1 ppg), rebounding (7.0 rpg), assists (4.6 apg), and steals (1.4 spg). Kohl is one of two players nationally to post per game averages of 18.0 ppg/7.0 rpg/4.5 apg/1.3 spg and is just the fourth player in league history to lead his team in all four categories, having done it in consecutive seasons. He recorded just the third triple-double in program history on on Jan. 10 at Fairleigh Dickinson when he posted 27 points, 12 rebounds and 11 assists. He had three 30-point games as a senior, including a career-high 35 points at Saint Francis U on Feb. 7. The 6-foot-5 Kohl became the 38th Blue Devil to score 1,000 career points when he scored 26 points at St. Francis Brooklyn on Feb. 16. A Preseason All-NEC choice, Kohl earned Second Team honors as a junior.

Krishnan was one of four Blue Devils to average double-figures, posting 12.0 points per game. The 6-foot-2 guard ranked second among all Northeast Conference freshmen in scoring overall. Krishnan also ranked sixth in the league with 2.3 three-pointers per game, tops among league rookies. He scored in double-figures in 19 contests and burst onto the scene with three straight 20-point games from Nov. 10-16, beginning with a career-high 28 points at Georgetown. Krishnan was a two-time NEC Rookie of the Week, most recently on Jan. 14 after he hit seven three-pointers and scored 27 points at Fairleigh Dickinson. 

In addition the three all-conference teams and all-rookie squad, the major award winners were also announced by the league. Saint Francis U, which claimed the league's regular-season crown, had the Player of the Year (Keith Braxton) and Jim Phelan Coach of the Year (Rob Krimmel). Sacred Heart was represented by Jare'l Spellman (Defensive Player of the Year) and Most Improved Player (E.J. Anosike), while Mount St. Mary's Vado Morse was named Rookie of the Year.





(860) 832-BLUE

Privacy Policy