Durham, Gomez, Garber Win Events Saturday; Swimming and Diving Finish 4th at NEC Championships

Durham, Gomez, Garber Win Events Saturday; Swimming and Diving Finish 4th at NEC Championships

Central Connecticut claimed a trio of championships on Saturday and the team claimed fourth in the team standings at the Northeast Conference Swimming & Diving Championships at the Nassau County Aquatic Center in East Meadow, NY. 



Senior Annemarie Durham highlighted the night, taking gold in the three-meter event with a score of 288.0. Her score set a NEC and CCSU record for the three-meter event. She was named the NEC Diver of the Year after winning the one-meter and three-meter events.

Senior Maddy Garber won the Blue Devils' first event of the day and defended her title, taking the 200 yard breaststroke in a time of 2:15.42. Garber's time was an NCAA B-cut qualifying time. Sophomore Gracie Regan finished seventh with a time of 2:23.31. Sophomore Keelin Kendall also earned points for CCSU finishing in a time of 2:23.25 to place third in the B Final.

Sophomore Valentina Gomez took the win in the 200 yard butterfly claiming her first NEC championship with a time of 2:02.79. 

Senior Lauren Czulewicz turned in a time of 51.27 in the 100 yard freestyle to place fifth and earn 14 points for CCSU. Junior Kaitlyn Troy earned six points with a time of 52.66.

Sophomore Alexis Fredricks placed fourth in the finals of the 200 backstroke. She turned in a time of 2:01.6 in the finals. Junior Aidan Devers placed seventh in the event with a time of 2:03.61 and senior Maeve Awiszus clocked a time of 2:05.62. CCSU earned a total of 33 points in the event.

The Blue Devils closed out the championships with a fifth-place finish in the 400 yard freestyle relay with a time of 3:34.53. Fredricks, Troy, Regan and Devers earned 28 points for Central in the event.

Central finished the championships with a total of 482 points to place fourth. Bryant won the team championship, posting a total of 793 points. Wagner placed second (728) and Saint Francis U (582.5) was third.

CCSU's Dave Maliar was selected as the Co-Diving Coaches of the Year