Dugan Selected Second Team All-NEC, Simmons Named to All-Rookie Team

Dugan Selected Second Team All-NEC, Simmons Named to All-Rookie Team

Sophomore Kerrianne Dugan and freshman Shontice Simmons were each awarded postseason honors by the Northeast Conference this evening at the league's women's basketball banquet. Dugan picked up a second team All-NEC selection, while Simmons was named to the 2008-09 Northeast Conference All-Rookie Team. Dugan becomes just the fourth CCSU player to garner a selection on either the first or second team since the program joined the NEC in 1997-98. Simmons, meanwhile, is the sixth Blue Devil in seven seasons to earn a spot on the league's all-rookie team.

Northeast Conference release

Dugan, an NEC All-Rookie Team selection last season, joins Gabriella Guegbelet, Qualisha Zyhier and Dianne Warner as the only all-conference selections during CCSU's time in the NEC. She averaged 11.5 points and 5.8 rebounds during the regular season. The Waterford, CT native also totaled 85 assists and 45 steals. An all-tournament selection at the USF Shootout and Rhody Classic, Dugan is the only player in the Northeast Conference to rank in the top-20 in scoring and rebounding while also appearing in the top-15 in assists.

Simmons enters the Northeast Conference Tournament leading Central Connecticut in scoring, rebounding and assists. She is averaging 12.4 points and 4.2 rebounds in her first season as a Blue Devil. The Fort Washington, MD native has also totaled 102 assists and 53 steals. Simmons, who has established a CCSU single-season freshman record with 21 double-digit scoring performances, was named the Most Outstanding Player at the Rhody Classic. She had a career-high 26 points at Bryant on Feb. 24. The Northeast Conference tabbed her as Choice Hotels/NEC Rookie of the Week on Feb. 17.

Central Connecticut ended the regular season with a 17-12 record and 12-6 mark in the Northeast Conference. The second-seeded Blue Devils will face seventh-seeded Fairleigh Dickinson in NEC Quarterfinal action on Saturday, March 7. Opening tip is scheduled for 5:30 p.m. Fans can listen to the action on CCSUBlueDevils.com. Michael Gualtieri and Roger Houston will have the call. Check out mediaCENTRAL for information on how to listen. The Northeast Conference will also feature a live webcast on the Pack Network. Information on how to access the NEC PackCast can be obtained via this link.

NOTES: Guegbelet was a first team selection in 2005-06 and 2006-07. She earned second team honors in 2004-05. Zyhier made the first team in 2000-01, and Warner was selected to the first team in 1997-98. Kim Boone (2002-03), Guegbelet (2003-04), Jhanay Harris (2005-06), P.J. Wade (2006-07) and Dugan (2007-08) were all-rookie selections.